Record Number of Mt. Healthy Seniors Earn Coordinating Council Scholarships


A record number of 19 Mt. Healthy High School seniors are earning extra money for college this year.  Nineteen seniors have earned scholarships through Mt. Healthy’s Coordinating Council that will go toward their college tuition. The students were recognized on Monday, May 15, at a special Coordinating Council Meeting and Ceremony. The Coordinating Council is an independent, volunteer organization serving the Mt. Healthy City School District that began in 1981. This is a record year with 19 students receiving scholarships totaling $29,000.            


The following students received Coordinating Council Scholarships which result in $500 toward their tuition:


Deaven Banks, Alexander Craig, Tyree Roberson, and Caitlin Siciliano,


The following students received Coordinating Council Scholarships which result in $1,000 toward their tuition:


Shyra Acosta, Joy Ayadi, Caranders Rhodes, Tori Cromwell Juana Rodriguez,  and Breanna Tanksley.


The following students received named scholarships with the amounts included:




David Horine Family Scholarship - Alexyiss Jones  $1000 –

In honor of former superintendent who Dave was the primary leader of the project to build our new schools.


Joseph Epplen Scholarship – Chantelle Thomas                $1000

In honor of former principal and superintendent from 1986-1998, who made a strong impact on the district through his development of students and strong curriculum.


Ruth Griffing Memorial Scholarship - Kayla Thomas           $2000

In memory of Ruth Griffing, a dedicated volunteer and supporter of Mt. Healthy City Schools.


Wendt Family Scholarship – Kiaya Victor                   $2000

In memory of Pat Wendt, a committed volunteer and legacy in the Coordinating Council. She ran the program with Ruth Griffing for years.  Dick Wendt continues to support for the Wendt Family Scholarship.


Joyce Hauer Memorial Scholarship – Trayvon Wilburn      $2000

In memory of a beloved and devoted teacher Joyce (Bloom) Hauer from Greener Elementary and New Burlington Elementary Schools. Her family hopes the scholarship continues to show the love Joyce had for the Mt. Healthy City Schools.


Teri Phillips Memorial Scholarship – Nahja Glenn    $3000

In memory of a treasured English / Language Arts teacher in the Mt. Healthy City School District for 22 years. She was a tireless advocate for her students, encouraging hard work and preparation for college.


David Bechtel Memorial Scholarship - Kayla Stamper        $3000

In memory of our former treasurer from 1985 to 1991. Dave spent thirty years in education and retired as a Superintendent from northern Ohio prior to coming to Mt. Healthy. Dave’s legacy is the foundation of scholarships developed from the Golf-a-Rama Scholarship Fund that raises money for on-going scholarships every year.


Bert Barnes Memorial Scholarship – Miguel Rodriguez      $3000

In memory of cherished former long time staff member and the Assistant Superintendent in Mt. Healthy City Schools. He passed away in 1982 from Lou Gehrig disease.


Ethel Frost Memorial Scholarship – Fortune Uzo-Ngerem $4000

In memory of former high school English & Latin teacher and the Zem Zem advisor.  Ethel Frost Elementary was named after her on September 5, 1965, and a wing of our North Elementary building is named for her.  She left a large amount of money to the Coordinating Council to start a scholarship program which now supports the Ethel Frost Scholarships.


The Coordinating Council Scholarship program helps students going on to college with financial assistance.  It is run by its officers and other volunteers.  The officers are currently Mark Walden and Don Hering as co-chairs, Richard Wendt as Treasurer, and Karen O’Connell as Secretary.